Membership Awards

The Junior League of Hamilton-Burlington would like to recognize, congratulate, and, most of all, thank the following award winners for their exemplary volunteer service and leadership.

Award Winners

Joan Crocker Award

The Joan Crocker Award is presented annually to one woman from each of the five Canadian Junior Leagues who is a strong leader and mentor both within her own League and the greater community.

The Rising Star Award is designed to recognize new Active members whose early years as a JLHB member demonstrate significant promise consistent with the mission, vision and values of the Junior League.

Rising Star Award
Phyllis Dutchak Award
The Phyllis Dutchak Award is to recognize an Active Member who has embodied the true spirit of the Junior League through exemplary deeds of voluntarism and dedication to the League.
Margaret Gilmour Award
The Margaret Gilmour Award is to recognize a member who has been a Sustainer or Active Sustainer for a minimum of five years and who embodies the true spirit of the Junior League.  A member who has been involved in the League as well as other volunteer activities.
Awards Dinner 2019 -34.JPG
Awards Dinner 2019 -30.JPG
Award winners for 2019 Anne-Louise Watts and Christine Lodge
Award winners 2018.jpg
Award winners for 2018 Christine Lodge, Monica Maguire, Tamara Welbourn and Rachel Griffiths.
Rita Award.JPG
Award winner for 2018 Rita Lachance.

The winner of the 2017 Rising Star Award is Wendy Powell (above left).

The Phyllis Dutchak Award for 2016 was presented to Monica Maguire (above right). Monica is a woman of extraordinary passion, ability, and energy.

The recipient of the 2013 - 2014 Margaret Gilmour Sustainer of the Year Award is Jane Redmond (above left), a woman who truly embodies the spirit of the JLHB, both within the League and through her community involvement.

Fonda Loft (Joan Crocker Award), is Head of Special Education and English as a Second Language at White Oaks Secondary School in Oakville. She is also a life long volunteer through the JLHB, Oakville Symphony, Ronald McDonald House, and leads the Inside Ride with her students. An extraordinary woman, loved by students and peers alike, Fonda is an inspiration to all who meet her.

Marion Goard (Joan Crocker Award), a woman of extraordinary ability and energy. Her work within the League is legendary. In addition, she took on the role of National Co-Ordinator of the Canadian Federation of Junior Leagues (CFJL), became involved in the charitable arm of Keller Williams Edge Realty and this year, founded the Burlington chapter of 100 Women Who Care.

Debra Seeley (Phyllis Dutchak Award), who is always willing to help out where needed, embodies the true spirit of the Junior League. She demonstrated her dedication and commitment by stepping in to fill two leadership positions when they became vacant mid-year.